Are you planning to visit Utah or to go fishing in Utah? You will probably need first to read the state fishing regulations, purchase your fishing license online or over the phone and then get your fishing equipment ready. The fishing license you are buying is not a fee but a contribution to help protect and preserve the sport of fishing for years to come. The money goes to the fishery management that helps save aquatic life and provides education on the sport.
Cost of Fishing Licenses in Utah
There are various packages offered to cater to your needs. All anglers must possess valid fishing licenses. Utah offers discount licenses for youth, senior citizens, disabled veterans, and others as well.
|1-year fishing (age 12-13)||$5.00||$6.00|
|1-year fishing (age 14-17)||$16.00||$29.00|
|1-year fishing (age 18-64)||$34.00||$85.00|
|Multi-year licenses||$33 per year (up to five years)||$84 per year (up to five years)|
|1-year fishing (age 65 and older)||$25.00||–|
|Disabled veteran 1-year fishing||$12.00||—|
|Setline fishing permit (valid only when used with a current fishing license)||$20.00||$23.00|
If you plan to hunt game and fish during your stay in Utah, you should consider getting the combination license to save some money. The rates are as follows:
|1-year combination (age 14-17)||$20.00||$29.00|
|1-year combination (age 18-64)||$38.00||$85.00|
|1-year combination (age 65+)||$29.00||—|
It’s important to understand and stay up with the regulations and rules. You can find this information as well as more details on the Utah Division of Wildlife Services Website.
Where Can One Purchase a Utah Fishing License?
- Online: With the evolution of technology, acquiring a fishing license has become more accessible. You can do this by heading over to the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources website, enter your date of birth, and follow the instructions given to make the purchase.
- App: You can download the Utah Hunting and Fishing App to purchase and store your Utah fishing license in addition to a variety of other features and benefits.
- Local Vendors: There are agents located all over Utah that are authorized to sell the various fishing licenses. The Utah DNR has provided a quick search site to help you find local vendors in your area.
- Call: The state has provided a number, 1-800-221-0659, to call and purchase a Utah fishing license. Note that a $2 fee will apply when using this method.
- Guide: If you have a chartered boat and hired a guide, the licensed guides can also prepare the necessary permits for you.
What Do I Need To Buy a Utah Fishing License?
To purchase a license, you will be required to provide the payment, your driver’s license, and your residency information. In addition to this, you will be asked some personally identifiable information such as weight, height, age, hair, and eye color. This is to ensure your license is not shared or used by others.
Do I Need a Fishing License in Utah?
According to the state of Utah, a fishing license is required for everyone who is 12 years of age or older.
Is There a Penalty for Not Having a Fishing License?
According to the state of Utah, if you are caught fishing without a license, you will receive a ticket and a fine, including one for each (fish) you caught. The Utah Division of Wildlife resources can also suspend the license of anyone who knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly violates the wildlife laws. It will revoke your license if:
- You are convicted
- You plead guilty or no contest
- You enter a plea in abeyance or diversion agreement.
It is advisable to purchase a fishing license to ensure you are on the safe side and enjoy your fishing experience.
Do I Qualify as an in-State Resident?
To qualify for an in-state license, the law requires you to have been a resident for six or more consecutive months. There are a few exceptions, which include if you are stationed in the military here or if you are attending school, in which case you must have been residing in the area for 60 consecutive days.
Utah Fishing Regulations
In Utah, various rules and regulations govern fishing in the area besides just acquiring a license. Here are some of the rules and regulations.
- All persons aged 12 years or older require a fishing license to fish in any body of water, be it a lake, pond, river, stream, or reservoir.
- In Utah, provided you have a fishing license or under the age of 12, you can fish in any water body with two poles. However, the extra pole does not change the limit of the number of fish you can keep.
- The state provides a free fishing day when people can go outdoors and enjoy fishing. This is an annual event where the sport of fishing brings people together.
- The state allows you to keep your license on your phone or tablet on their app for easier accessibility.
- In Utah, it is illegal to transport or release live fish, which can adversely affect the fish population and fishing.
If you have any other questions or concerns about the rules and regulations of fishing in Utah, please make sure to check out Utah’s online guidebook to find out more.
Fish Caught in Utah and Their Daily Limits
The limits listed below apply to most Utah fisheries, but specific bag and size restrictions apply to some waters.
|Bluegill and green sunfish (a combined total)||50|
|Burbot (anglers must not release any burbot they catch. They must be killed)||No limit|
|Community fisheries (the limit includes fish of most species, but you must release any tiger muskellunge you catch. You are also encouraged to release all largemouth bass)||2|
|Large and smallmouth bass||6|
|Nongame species (except prohibited fish)||No limit|
|Tiger muskellunge||One over 40 inches|
|White bass||No limit|
|walleye||10, only one over 24 inches|
In conclusion, fishing is a fun activity that one can do in Utah. Just make sure you follow all the rules and regulations and purchase a valid fishing license.